Travel warning issued for all UK holidaymakers with old red passports | Travel News | Travel

UK holidaymakers still using the old red passport have been urged to check its expiry date before they go on holiday due to strict entry rules in other countries.

Many countries require your passport to be valid for another six months before you can travel internationally. This is known as the ‘six-month validity rule’.

VisaGuide.World states that 70 countries have a six-month passport rule, while another 41 apply the three-month passport validity rule.

This means travellers can enter these countries if their passport is valid for at least three more months. If you still have a red passport, which are no longer being issued after the UK left the EU, it’s crucial to check its expiry date.

Since Brexit, your passport must be less than 10 years old on the day of arrival in the EU and have at least three months left on the day you plan to leave.

Countries that have a three-month passport validity rule:

Albania, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Czechia, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Honduras, Iceland, Italy, Jordan, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Norway, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Senegal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Countries with other validity rules:

Bermuda (45 days upon entry), Eritrea (three months on arrival), Hong Kong (three months on arrival), Lebanon (three months on arrival), Macau (three months on arrival), Micronesia (four months on arrival), South Africa (three months on arrival), The Maldives (three months on arrival), and Zambia (four months on arrival).

Source link